Fort Worth Association of Federated Women's Clubs
Progressive Alliance of Cultured Women
Progressive Alliance of Cultured Women
Mae Gray-Rossi, President
Geraldine Polk, Vice-President
LaVeda Goodspeed, Treasurer
Maudelle Cade, Recording Secretary
Brenda Jackson, Financial Secretary
Helen Grape, Chaplain
Mattie McClure, Historian
Myrtis Parker, Trustee
In 1971 Dr.  Armentha Hill, a member of Progressive Literary and Art Club, enlisted the help of Myrtis McAlister Parker to get a group of young women in her age group together, to be  organized into a Federated Club under the sponsorship of Progressive Literary and Art club. Thus was the beginning of Progressive Alliance of Cultured Women. Following the tradition of a long line of Progressive clubs, the name Progressive Alliance of Cultured Women (PACW) was chosen.
The charter members included Myrtis Parker, Doris Winston, (the first president),Gertrude Townsend Murphy, Betty Rambo and Deloris Simmons. The first three organizational meetings of the club were held in the home of Dr. Hill.  Club colors chosen were yellow and green and the club flower chosen was the yellow rose.
After several years of enthusiastic activity, other interest distracted members of PACW so that in 1987, a second organizational meeting was held at Dr. Hill's home.  On October 7,1987, a revitalized Progressive Alliance of Cultured Women, once more sponsored by Progressive Literary and Art Club, was presented to the Fort Worth Association of Federated Clubs.
Over the past 45 years we have participated in the following activities:  Ronald McDonald House, Library, Bethlehem Center Clothes Closet, Food Bank, PACW Clothes Closet, Thanksgiving Baskets and adopting a child from the Lena Pope Home. Past presidents include: Myrtis Parker, Rochelle Bolton, Jane Goodspeed, JoAnna Patton, Minnie Gunter, Mae Gray Rossi, Gussie Mack, and Johnny Gales, and Charolette Drones. 

1051 Evans Ave.
Fort Worth, TX  76104


Follow us on Social Media   @CityFederation